The River Runs High

O, Mord, l am lain
straight afore the mean days.

A mistake I made
I came tumblin’ down with ev’rythin’,

possessin’ so selfishly, oh
the ruins and the gold, where me parents got buried

Under the darn stars.
Piety that escaped me, I ain’t care.

My cup runs over, over, never
I shivers now

I wants time, I wants love, I wants the figures
that cast shadows under the sun.

I think I might be sinkin’ under the stars.
I was me, – only I forgot the rest o’ them

I was free? It was hard —
But Gourd I didn’t know

That rivers run high,
And people don’t fly.

Leave a Reply

