Rude Awakenings

Rude awakenings
come in threes
so why is it I
was left with
nothing,
nothing in this world

Even the bird knows
nature lingers in ephemeral
winds, broken
like a piece of chocolate
into fourths, then halves,
further burrowed into halves,
stubbornly shearing specks
of halves and halves

And then, what’s next
I asked the announcer,
whom I still can’t see,
what follows when
the whole is stolen?
who can I complain to?

Life’s worst bureaucracy,
leaving me with
endless questions,  
dragging me in
line and in time,
living the worst tragedy,
my impounded love
lost to an extraordinary moment
I, puny, could not fight it

Leave a Reply

