Thousandth Walk on Alvarado St.

I let the street go before me

I let the junkie scream wildly, 

    the one sitting on the old green bench 

I let the flyers swirl around me 

   – assistance at low cost 

I let cracks on walks slip

    by my quick pace home 

I let the narrow crowds upset me 

     they squeeze any special spark within this place 

I let them transform into any old soul 

    bumbling for the next fix

I let them make me feel clean when 

    I just stepped on 50-year-old piss 

I let their eyes linger in my mind

    though I keep my head down all they way on Alvarado St. 

Leave a Reply

