National Authors’ Day

Celebrate #NationalAuthorsDay

This November 1st let us, the avid readers, honor the countless writers who have share stories, whether it be personal or imaginative, and led us through a whirlwind of emotions and thoughts.

Nellie Verne Burt McPherson, also a passionate reader, proposed the idea to celebrate American writers in 1928 when one her favorite authors, Irving Bacheller sent her a signed copy of his book. In appreciation of this gesture, McPherson proposed to the General Federation of Women’s Clubs to have a day to honor authors in the U.S. This proposal soon passed, but it wasn’t until 1949, that the United States Department of Commerce recognize the first of November as National Authors’ Day.  Today, our gratitude towards authors extends beyond America, but other writers of the world who empower their readers to think about humanity.

Here’s a list of our favorite authors here at Ugly Duckling Songbook:

  • Gabriel Garcia Marquez

“The problem with marriage is that it ends every night after making love, and it must be rebuilt every morning before breakfast.” { Gabriel Garcia Marquez: A Life}

  • Maya Angelou

 “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” {Beautifully Said Magazine, 2012}

  • Shakespeare

“We are such stuff as dreams are made on, and our little life is rounded with a sleep.” {The Tempest}

  • Flannery O’Connor

Writing a novel is a terrible experience, during which the hair often falls out and the teeth decay. I’m always irritated by people who imply that writing fiction is an escape from reality. It is a plunge into reality and it’s very shocking to the system.” {Flannery O’Connor, Mystery and Manners: Occasional Prose}

  • James Joyce

“History, Stephen said, is a nightmare from which I am trying to awake.” {Ulysses}

  • Virginia Woolf

“Lock up your libraries if you like; but there is no gate, no lock, no bolt that you can set upon the freedom of my mind.” {A Room of Own’s Own}

  • J,K. Rowling

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.” {Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone}

  • J.R.R. Tolkien

“If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.” {The Hobbit}

  • Douglas Adams

“Space is big. You just won’t believe how vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it’s a long way down the road to the chemist’s, but that’s just peanuts to space.” {The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy}

  • Philip K Dick

“Fear can make you do more wrong than hate or jealousy… fear makes you always, always hold something back.” {VALIS}

  • Ray Bradbury

‘ “We’re all fools,” said Clemens, “all the time. It’s just we’re a different kind each day. We think, I’m not a fool today. I’ve learned my lesson. I was a fool yesterday but not this morning. Then tomorrow we find out that, yes, we were a fool today too.” ‘  {The Illustrated Man}

  • Sylvia Plath

“I can never read all the books I want; I can never be all the people I want and live all the lives I want. I can never train myself in all the skills I want. And why do I want? I want to live and feel all the shades, tones and variations of mental and physical experience possible in my life. And I am horribly limited.” {The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath}

  • F. Scott Fitzgerald

“The loneliest moment in someone’s life is when they are watching their whole world fall apart, and all they can do is stare blankly” {The Great Gatsby}

  • J.D. Salinger

“An artist’s only concern is to shoot for some kind of perfection, and on his own terms, not anyone else’s” {Franny and Zooey}

  • August Wilson

“I cried a river of tears but he was too heavy to float on them. So I dragged him with me these years across an ocean.” {Seven Guitars}

  • Langston Hughes

“An artist must be free to choose what he does, certainly, but he must also never be afraid to do what he must choose.” {“The Negro Artist and the Racial Mountain”}

Leave a Reply

